Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is difficult for teachers to be both popular ( well-liked ) and effective to help students learning.

Currently, the society has witnessed an unprecedented accumulation of material affluence, thus people are attaching more importance to the education industry, meanwhile, the public not only puts considerable emphasis on the fruitful outcomes of schooling but also evaluates the popularity of teachers. Some individuals reckon that with sufficient experience accumulated as education practitioners, teachers are adept at striking a balance between the popularity and the effectiveness of teaching. Personally speaking, I stand on the opposite side and my view can be substantiated as the following reasons.

To start with, nowadays, society is teeming with fierce competition, which imposes an escalating strain on students. With the higher standards in passing the college entrance exam or landing a decent job, teachers are craving for improving students’ aptitudes in all round, thus they assign more tasks than ever before. Just as the old saying goes, practice makes perfect. Thus, those education practitioners resort to innumerable assignments at the aim of enhancing students’ academic performance, which results in the ramification that students are burdened with escalating pressure from the excessive assignments and some of them even harbor resentment toward their teachers. The research conducted to evaluate students’ gratification illuminates that 78% of students admit that their teachers’ sternness in pedagogical methods enables them to have a better comprehension of profound knowledge, nevertheless, given the burdensome drudgery and depression they suffer while studying, most of them do not like teachers and cannot maintain a good relationship with their teachers. This research indicates that students, enslaved by a vast number of works assigned by teachers, tend to dislike their teachers.

What’s more, owing to the devotion toward the fruitful outcomes, both teachers and students do not possess sufficient time and energy to maintain sound relationships with each other. With regard to teachers, since they are yearning for students’ better academic performance in examination, they devote all their time and energy toward their pedagogical approaches, for instance, the syllabus, the power points they prepare to utilize in class and so on. Hence, there is no extra time can be allocated to develop a relationship with students, which are likely to leave a bad impression on students. Apart from that, students, driven by their innate properties of winning, they are also preoccupied with assignments, consequently there is no extra room for them to attach attention to teachers’ charisma, what they care is whether they can finish tasks promptly so as to meet the deadlines or rejuvenate themselves by having a break.

Admittedly, a myriad of experienced teachers are capable of gaining popularity from students with their unparalleled glamour. Nevertheless, since the education industry has not been well-developed, students are still be doomed as passive receptacles of predigested knowledge, teachers continue to infuse students knowledge without consideration of students’ sentiment.

In a nutshell, from what has been discussed above, it is burdensome for teachers to be both popular and effective to imparting knowledge to students. For one thing, the intensive competition forces teachers to assign numerous practices which makes students feel overwhelmed. For another, both teachers and students are preoccupied, therefore extra time and energy cannot be committed to developing their teacher-student relationship.