Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In my opinion, it is more important for governments to improve public transportation because improving public transportation could be a useful solution for a global crisis: climate change. Also, expanding urban areas have made the improvement of public transportation inevitable.

We are all aware of the harmful impacts of global warming on the Earth and species living on it. From air pollution and rising sea levels which are affecting human life to the ecology and populations of other species. The main cause of all these problems is the carbon dioxide emitting exhaust fumes of automobiles in municipal areas. The air pollution is a challenge for all citizens, especially those who have respiratory diseases whose health conditions could be exacerbated by increasing air pollution. However, the most efficient way to reduce pollution is improving and investment in public transportation. This section includes suburbs, buses, and public taxis. The more improved and availability of public vehicles, the less use of private cars by people and therefore the improved air quality and people's health conditions. In addition, the efficacy of such policy could be reinforced if the government also invest in hybrid public vehicles which expel almost no harmful materials into the air.

Second, in all over the world, increasing population growth resulted in urbanization. Many people also migrate from rural areas to urban areas due to climate change which led to a reduction in agricultural yields. Consequently, the extended urban areas need new infrastructures for new dwellers who are seeking good living conditions. The new and grown population could be considered as an opportunity for the economy if the facilities would be provided for them. The most important facility and infrastructure is public transportation. If they would be able to commute for a place to place, they could be employed as labor in industry and public services. By contrast, if the facilities would not be provided by the governments, the population may create social concerns and may increase the rate of crimes as a result of unemployment.

All in all, I believe that it more important for governments to improve public transportation instead of improving internet access. If public transportation would not have been improved, many environmental and social problems may arise in society.