TPO 46

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In a traditional society such as ours, the celebrities and athletes are kinds of pioneers and leaders and most of them are considered open-minded and intellectuals. So, their quotations and opinions are more important to younger open-minded people than the older traditional people. Celebrities are also the models of society and their opinions and beliefs are more likely to be followed by younger people in social media.

First of all, the ideas and open-mindedly opinions of celebrities are more attractive to young people. The celebrities sometimes become the most influential leaders who conduct the ways of thinking and modern culture in our society. For example, an actor, named Hossein Panahi, who passed away many years ago, was one of the celebrities whose quotations has widely been shared by his fans, especially after his death. The young people account for most of his fans because his beliefs were mostly about new ways of thinking moral issues to which the young people are the ones who pay attention the most.

Second, celebrities and athletes are also usually considered as models in society. Whenever a national disaster or national event affect or may occur in the future, the celebrities try to have the most impact. For example, last year an earthquake occurred in western Iran and many people lost their accommodation and became homeless ever since. After the disaster, a former soccer player in national level started a campaign to gather donations and financial help from all over the country. Since many young people are familiar with the player and also all celebrities, they were the first ones who contribute to the national campaign and a huge amount of money had been gathered for earthquake victims. Also, the celebrities also played a significant role in the last presidential elections in Iran. They participated in the winner candidate, Hassan Rouhani, and supported the candidate whose opinions were mostly matched with the young people in the country. So, the opinions of celebrities are more important for younger people.

Third, younger people have more access to social media than older people have. For example, Instagram is the most popular media in the country. Many young people are members of this media and follow the pages of celebrities and athletes. But, the older people in the society do not have access to social media and cannot be impacted by the opinions of the celebrities as much as the younger people.

For those reasons, I agree with the statement and the young people pay more attention to the opinions of celebrities and athletes.