Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Governments have the option to spend the money of tax payers on different projects. Some may prioritize spending the money on enhancing then internet infrastructure, however, some others would consider improving the public transportation system. Although both of those projects are important, I feel allocating the budget for supporting the public transportation is more of a priority because of various reasons

To start with, spending money on public transportation allows people to save time. Many people are reluctant to use public transportation because they fear that they might not arrive to their jobs on time. Spending more money on public transportation instead of internet would allow an accurate departure of buses and trains. For example, I drive to work often Because my bus does not depart on its schedule, I think twice before I take the bus to work. Thus, I prefer to use my car.

In addition, allocating more budget to enhance public transportation creates a cleaner environment. The emission of carbon dioxide released from car engines pollute the air. For example, in china the pollution level of air is far above the standard limits. It is estimated according to environmentalists that air quality index reaches up to 200 which is considered the worst in the world. If the government of china enhances the public transportation system, It would be able to reduce this quality index by at least thirty points, and protect it's people from the harmful effect of air pollution.

Finally, There are private investors in the internet services which can help the government to build good internet infrastructure services. For example, companies like Venison , T-mobile, and Netflix are private companies that are willing to spend money on building a good internet work. However, public transportation is a responsibility of the government. Moreover, public transportation fees has to be affordable inorder to allow rich and poor people to use it.

To sum up, spending more money is a priority for the governments. A good public transportation system reduces car usage and creates cleaner air. Furthermore, it reduces pollution and is healthier for the people.