Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, both Internet access and public transportation are closely associated with people daily life. Internet offer us a way to a broader virtual world, in contrast, public transportation facilitate us to arrive the real destination. In the meantime, whether governments should invest more in Internet access or in public transportation has loomed up wide public concern. From my perspective, I would rather prefer to consider improving public transportation more worthy, rather than boosting Internet access.

Firstly, comparatively speaking, it is more imperative to enhance the public transportation, as the environment problems, such as haze, get increasingly serious. To a large extent, the main contributor of haze is the exhaust fume from automobiles and vehicles. By offering more comfortable and convenient public transportation, people would reduce the use of private cars and turn to subway or buses, which is conducive to relieve our environmental problems. Only when the living environment becomes more pleasant, people's health and living conditions can get enhanced, thus, they could better enjoy the benefits of Internet. Under these circumstances, it is a wiser choice for the political authorities to allocate more money in improving public transportation.

Secondly, providing quicker and more convenient transportation to workers means less commuting time, which is not only beneficial to increase social efficiency, but also reduce the complaints from employees. Therefore, it is a good way to boost modern citizens' sense of happiness. Take my cousin's experience as an example, she works in a big company which locates in Shanghai's center area. However, as the skyrocketing price of house, she has to rent an apartment in the suburban area. Every day, she has to get up at 5 in order to arrive at her working place before 9 because it takes her 3 hours on the subway. In addition, as the subway is always piled with crowded people, it is infrequent to find an available seat. Therefore, when she gets the company, tired and exhausted, she has less energy to support an efficient work. In this sense, a better transportation would help to improve workers' mood and guarantee the social efficiency; hence, it is more advantageous to invest more money to improve public transportation than Internet access.

Some people may argue that a better Internet access contributes to enrich people's life, as people could use internet to watch movies, play computer games. However, not everyone spends time on computers, for example, an 80-year-old man may even don't know how to use the computer. Therefore, the benefits of public transportation would exert more widespread impact on people than internet access does. It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

To conclude, chaining together all the merits elaborated above, I am completely convinced that it is superior to allocate money in enhancing public transportation then internet access.