Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In recent years, when a lot of video games are available on the market, it has been a controversial topic among parents whether let their sons and daughters spend time playing these games or not. Although it really depends on a lot of factors such as the type of the game, age of the children, and the amount of time spent for playing, I believe that there are some great benefits for playing video games which would be missed if they become forbidden for the young people. The reasons behind my disagreement against prohibiting juveniles from playing computer games are decribed below.

First of all, a lot of video games in different genres contain some sort of puzzles to be solved. Solving these problems needs logical thinking and concentration which will result in improving of creativity among children like what a math problem does. For example in a game called Portal, you have to keep in mind a lot factors that would create a path which you can cross and get to the next level. It needs a great sense of geometric patterns in order to find your way.

Furthermore, the majority of games have a realistic story which is connected to some historical events which has happend somwhere around the world. We can learn a lot about these historic facts and geography or culture of other civilizations by playing these games. The games that are related to World War II or ancient cities have a lot teach us about history as if we are reading books.

Moreover, there are a lot of stories and descriptions available through many of computers games containing a lot of vocabularies and expressions that are so useful for non-english children around the world that definitely would enhance their foreign language learing.

These reasons may not be tangible for the parents at first thought, however if they look at video games in some kind of educational medium, they may change their minds and stop thinking of playing video games as a waste of time.