Do you agree or disagree with the following statements

In twenty years that would be fewer cars in use that there are today

Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

I completely disagree, I feel exactly the opposite of the statement. The world’s population is increasing in a exponential way and together with this, the number of cars is getting bigger and bigger. Nowadays, everyone wants to have a car. Especially, because cars give people the independence to get from one place to another quickly. However, the same people that enjoy this independence, get angry when they spend several hours in a traffic jam.

It is pretty normal that people pass more than one hour in traffic, at least here in Brazil. Chiefly in the big cities, citizens need to get up earlier to arrive at their job on time. Of course, the quality of life decreases so much. Beyond less hours of sleep and a lot of time driving to work, people have become mentally and physically exhausted. For instance, last week my brother was busy and could not take my dad to work. So, I went. But, here in my city the traffic is just terrible at 5 p.m and I spent almost 2 hours getting back home that day. When I arrived at my dad’s house my mind was completely blacked out.

Unfortunately, simple activities could be a nightmare with the amount of cars that we currently have. I am a P.h.D student and if I have an important activity to do at the university, I need to reschedule my activities to guarantee that I’ll arrive at the university on time. For example, last semester we were taking biochemistry classes with Mr. Araujo and that specific day a girl from the class was supposed to show her work for us (Mr. Araujo would then grade her presentation). Our classes started at 8 a.m, but the girl did not arrive on time. We stayed waiting for her until 10 a.m. When she finally arrived, she told us that she was stuck in traffic. I remember that I was just imagining if I was her, how ashamed I would be. So, we cannot assume that the traffic will be fine. It is much better to come earlier and wait for the professor than to have the traffic effect your whole day.

Truly, we cannot deny that cars provide a kind of comfort for our lives, but we need to be aware of the damage to the planet generated by the fuel that we frequently use in cars. It is possible to reduce this with simple actions like offering to car pool or even walking when possible. Unfortunately, we do not always think like this. For example, my boyfriend’s family is about 7 people and everyone has their own car. Even when they are going to the same place, they never offer each other a ride just because each one prefers to go in their own car. To me this type behavior is not good, we need to think more about the world in general not only ourselves.

For those reasons I believe that the number of cars is increasing in the short term. Even though there are benefits offered by cars, we need to pay attention because there are a lot of things involved while we are just driving. Certainly, our planet is one of those things.