Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Some people think that scientists make the most important contributions to society. Other think that the contributions of artists are the most important. Which positions do you agree with?

Generally, both artists and scientists play important roles in the development of our society. We work or live in beautiful buildings. We hang paintings and pictures in our houses. We also use scientific devices such as mobile phones, laptops, motorbikes and refrigerators every day. Therefore, it is quite hard to determine which one is more crucial. If needed to choose in view of society, I believe scientists gain more respect and money for several reasons.

To begin with, the contributions of scientists are quite obvious. People have to use cars, motorbikes, bikes, buses to work or study every day. Refrigerators, laptops, mobile phones and many other devices have become a part of our lives for a long time. Moreover, different types of food can be grown in anywhere, regardless of the environment. More diseases are cured to help people live longer, healthier thanks to modern machines, scientific devices. These are a few reasons why we cannot deny the necessary works of scientists to society.

Additionally, some people argue that art is a record of past events via ideography, which lifts our spirits. Artists also create the basic foundation for scientific fields such as writing systems, graphs, pictures. Scientists, however, are needed to create complete machines. Furthermore, it is not easy to appraise the true value of pictures and paintings but we can estimate how much scientists make due to the effectiveness of their innovations to human beings. Therefore, they easily make more money. I can recall a compelling example of my friend who graduated from college with a degree in art. She then had to work for a scientific company because it is not always easy to find good jobs in art.

In conclusion, I believe it is very easy to find news regarding a variety of scientific fields which are obtained more funds from the governments than artistic ones to expand their benefits for our future. Consequently, scientists get more and more support and become more vital for our society.