Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

We live in a world where communication is one of the most effective tools of influence. A person belongs to several social groups at the same time - family, friends, school/college, etc. Some people claim that the biggest impact is experienced during school and college years when a person is a student and communicates with teachers. Others believe that in student years a person is mostly affected by his/her friends. I strongly support the first group's opinion. The following arguments will explain my point of view.

To start with, since childhood, we are being told to obey older people. This rule is based on the very old system of values that implies that the elders have more authority as they are more experienced. This idea creates the behavioral pattern, where a person is very likely to be affected by what elders are saying. This pattern works with students and teachers, too. Teachers are people who have authority over the younger generation of students. Therefore, it is logical that students feel that a word said by a teacher has its weight. From this perspective, the student sees their friend as someone who is equal, who have the same amount of experience. Therefore, the friend's opinion is unlikely to influence a student in the way the teacher's opinion does.

Another important aspect is that teachers are people from whom we learn. Their primary function is to impart us knowledge and teach us skills that will be essential in our life. This type of relationship between a student and a teacher creates a foundation where the former gets inevitably influenced by the latter. In a sense, the very teaching itself can already be seen as an influence. If we think about it, a student believes every word the teacher says - whether it is a simple fact that the Earth orbits the Sun or a complicated theory from physics.

As far as friendship is concerned, most people become friends because they share the same hobbies, live next to each other or study/work at the same place. These grounds do not necessarily imply that friends would be influencing each other in some way. They may just enjoy spending time together.

As has been noted, in student years people actively communicate with both their friends and teachers. But in terms of influence, the role of a teacher is far more serious. For a student, a teacher is a role model, a person who deserves respect due to his/her age, experience, and status.