It is more important for students to read books about real events than it is for them to read novels.

Some people believe that reading such types of literature as novels have no benefits for our development, especially for students, who are supposed to extend their knowledge in practical matters. However, there are people who consider that novels can be as much informative as books that contain factual information and are based on real events. Personally, I agree with the opinion of the latter group of people. Below I ’ll introduce several strong reasons, supporting my point of view.

First, one has to consider the fact that even though novels are generally seen as reads for entertainment, they still can be very informative, as many novels are based on real historical events. For example, the novel by M. Mitchell “Gone with the wind’ narrated the events of the American Civil War. In fact, the author described those sides of the war that revealed the hardships of common people during the war. M. Mitchell paid close attention to the emotions and thoughts of the characters. In my opinion, such details significantly add to readers’ understanding of how big the tragedy of the war was, which is no less important than just learning some dry facts about the war, listed in history books. Therefore, both the novels and the books with factual information can provide useful knowledge for students.

Second, being aimed to entertain a reader as the novel is, this type of literature is essential to let one take a rest from studies. As a rule, books about real events are included in a studying program. Therefore, students read them in order to memorise as much information as possible, either they analyze the material from those books to write academic papers. Reading only study books can be exhausting and boring, and novels give students a good opportunity to unload their minds from studies. I’m absolutely convinced that reading a novel, even very unserious one, such as romance novel, won’t affect anyone’s productivity.

Finally, it’s not only about the difference in content. The difference in styles of the language, in which novels and history books are written, also matter, when it comes to a comprehension of the material. From my personal experience, I can tell that texts in history books about are easier reads, as they contain a relatively limited amount of vocabulary and have a relatively simple grammatical structure. But, if you take a novel, you’ll find there a range of different lexical forms, as well as comprehensive grammar.

All in all, there’s no doubt in my mind that both novels and books about real events are worth reading for students. As has been noticed, novels can serve as a good resource for learning about real events as well as study books do. Besides, the entertaining function of novels is of less significance for students than the informative one.