Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.Use specific reasons and ex

Nowadays, many people tend to maintain their friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time and think that the ability to maintain friendships is more important for happiness than making new friends. However, I firmly believe that the ability to making new friends is more significant.

First of all, hanging out with new friends is more interesting whereas old friends could be boring because you have already known them very well. A new friend is very likely to have some special characteristics and stories that you never met or heard of before. For instance, a friend of mine named Tom is from Italy. Before I met him, I have never met anyone from Italy. Tom often told me interesting stories of Italy which I never heard of. I found these story extremely interesting and hanging out with Tom was a wonderful experience. On the contrary, when I am chatting with old friends, I find there is nothing new to talk about, which really makes me bored. Thus, I think the ability to make many new friends easily is of more significance for happiness.

Secondly, new friends are more likely to have the ability to help you. Take me for an example, I am now a graduate student and many of my old friends don't even make it to the universities. When I face a problem during my research, my old friends are not able to help me even though they want to. However, my new friends are also graduate students and I can tell them my problem and they are often very helpful. Furthermore, according to a recent survey conducted by Japan Social university, 95% of the respondents reported that their new friends helped them more than their old friends did.

In conclusion, the ability to make new friends easily is more significant for happiness than the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time. On one hand, hanging out with a new friend is often more interesting because there are many new topics to talk about. On the other hand, new friends are more likely to have the ability to help you.