In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

To begin with, young people in the past lacked life experience whereas young people today can obtain as much life experience as they want readily on the internet, which helps young people today to make their life choices. For example, 30 years ago, my father, who just graduated from high school, was thinking about what major to study. There was no way for him to know those majors based on his own personal life experience. Besides, at that time, little information about what kinds of people should choose what major was available out there. The only thing my father could do was to listen to my grandparents. However, when I was trying to determine my major 3 years ago. I could easily just google the name of major and numberless information came out on my screen. Furthermore, I could also talk with people who had already in one major and ask how did they feel about their majors. The information online and life experience of people online were extremely beneficial for me to make a decision on my major.

Secondly, young people in the past were expected to be listening to their parents several decades ago, however, young people today are much encouraged to make decisions by themselves. For instance, my uncle loved and wanted to marry a woman whose parents was not as good as my grandparents financially. Because of that, my grandparents didn't allow my uncle to marry that woman and forced him to marry another woman he had never met before. In the past, parents' word worked like order because of some historical culture. Therefore, young people at that time depended on their much very much when they were making decisions.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that young people today have better capability to make their own decisions but young people in the past were more likely to do things according to the advice from their parents. On one hand, young people in the past had little information to refer to, however, many information is accessible for young people today based on which they can make proper decisions. On the other hand, young people today are encouraged to be responsible for their own lives whereas young people in the past were expected to listen to their parents.