Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Modern societies could easily be distinguished from ancient ones by contemplating speeds. Advancements in science and technology have forced everything in our day-to-day life to adopt a fast-paced culture. This allowed individuals to be in a constant movement from place to place. Students move out of their small towns to pursue higher education in big cities.As a result, people who have the ability to make new friends quickly and easily would have better opportunities. However, other people who do not have this talent could suffer if they found themselves in a totally new place where they knew no one. Nevertheless, this does not guarantee that out-going individuals will always be happier than more introverted persons. Hence, I disagree with the idea that happiness is related to how easily you are able to make friends rather than how you are able to maintain long-term relationships with the existing friends you already have. I feel this way for many potential reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, we are happier when we have stable relationships for a long time with people. The more trust we have in our friendships, the happier we will be. As trust takes quite long periods of time to build between partners or friends, long-term relationships are the way to change our lives to be more content. This is because time is crucial to prove or disprove the genuity and the significance of each relationship we have. Through years and years of experience together, we can trust each others' honesty. My own experience is a compelling example on that. One of my best friends is Mark. We got to know each other during middle school. After that, we started to share everything about each other. We went on trips together and we've been through good and bad things. This gave us chance to believe in each other and in our relationship since confidence between each other was building day after day.

Secondly, we will not be afraid to be ourselves with a friend whom we have known for long time. This is mainly due to the fact that we have shared enough personal details with each other that there is almost no insecurities to make us uncomfortable. On the other hand, we usually approach new persons in our lives with cautiousness. we do not feel completely comfortable and relaxed around them our attitude towards each other is still taking shape.Therefore, It's not easy for us to be vulnerable around new people. Consequently, we could try to brand ourselves in a certain way which does not reflect our true identity. For instance, I have made many new friendships with my coworkers at my new job, but our relationships are still growing. I cannot rely on them when I feel depressed or unhappy. Rather, I mostly contact my friends from high school whom we have known each other for years. These are the friendships that could make me lead and maintain a joyful life.

In conclusion, although the trait of being outgoing and able to make new friends easily is vital when moving through the stages of life, it's not the authentic key to happiness. Instead, long-term relationships are the ones that saves us when things go wrong.