Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendship with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends?

There is no doubt that nowadays, friendship plays the key role in our society. No one can deny the direct or indirect effect of the friendship in our lives. Nowadays, some may hold the opinion that the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is vital for happiness. However, some others may take an opposite viewpoint and believe that the ability to make new friends easily is overweight the other one. From my own perspective, the second belief is true. In what follows, I will pinpoint my outstanding reasons.

The first reason coming to mind to substantiate my standpoint is concerned with this issue that by making new friends, we have the chance to learn new things from them. No one can cast a shadow doubt of the fact that some of ideas which brought success and happiness for some people, has been taken from their learning from their friends. As an example, in my own experience, I heard a bad news about my major two years ago. I was told that I cannot ensue my education in my country for PHD since, there were not enough equipment in our universities to cover all students' need. On that time I felt frustrated and thought that I never can do what I love most which is research. However, on that time I found someone who most people may call him a gift from a god. He became my best friend. One day I talked to him about my concern and he offered me to try to complete my study abroad. That was a turn point in my life. This experience taught me the more friends you make, the more new things u can learn.

The last but not the least reason by which claim is justified is that by making new friends you can improve your self-confidence and learn how to socialize more effectively. In other word, people who have the ability to find new friends easily, can earn the experience of how behave with different people. This experience may be useful for them and lead them to have a happier life. For instance, Amir, one of my friend was too shy to talk to girls. After some years he could find a job at a restaurant. He was a cashier so he needed to communicate with people every single day. Somehow he made some friends by just talking to them. By using of his experience, he could find his girlfriend eventually. As you can see were he not to have this experience, he couldn't find his girlfriend.

From what has been discussed above, we may safely reach the conclusion that the ability to make many new friends easily, is indispensable in order to have a happier life. Not only can it bring new things to learn for you, but also it can help you to socialize more effectively by using your experience. Considering all reasons which mentioned above, may lead us to improve our ability to make many new friends.