Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friendship is essential social interaction for individual. I agree the statement that maintains friendships with small number of people over long distance will be happier than the ability to make many new friends. According to my experience as expatriate worker over several countries, I stand for this point for three subjective reasons.

First, old friend knows you better, even in the long distance. They know your habits, taste and feeling sometime. The tacit understanding is not a new make friend can acquire in few months. For example, when I was working in Japan, I made a local friend, who is my colleague. We share our life. We discuss the issue in the job and we travel together. He can easier understand the meaning under my nonverbal language and my facial expression. He understand me when I don't even say a word.

In addition, long distance friend means the background; culture and location climate is different. There're always surprises when people exchange their new discovery, especially two people from different places. Think about you get the new story from USA, and later you heard your friend have wedding ceremony in East Asia. When they share their life to you. It is always exciting and many of things you probably had never heard. Long distance friend always expends your horizon.

Last, The ability of maintaining the friend in long distance indicates that you have ability to connect the people, no matter the distance. The person have this ability can make deep connection in spite of the distance long away. They are usually happy because social interaction is one of most ingredients for happy life. The connection is not limited to friend, but their family members, their colleague and boss, also their neighbors. Make connection to a people isn't easy. Nonetheless, if a person can keep a long distance friend, I am sure he or she is good at it.

People are social animal and always need friend at any page of your life. To sum up, the ability to maintain the distance friend is more important for happiness. The reason is not only familiar but also exciting. And the most important of all, this ability means you can connect people.