Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Nowadays, with the rapid development of the living conditions, more and more people lay emphasis on leisure entertainment, especially traveling. Some people recommend that joining a travel group equipped with a tour guide is the best way of traveling. Such kind of traveling indeed has advantages in some way. However, from my own perspective, it may not be the best way on the whole.

There is no doubt that traveling in a group genuinely saves time and money, which makes us easier to prepare for a trip coming towards us, traveling abroad in particular. When we decide to sign a contract with the travel agency, all that we have to do is nothing but to get prepared for the documents and certificates required from the agency with models and instructions in hand. The moment we finish the necessary materials, we are done,waiting for the upcoming trip when those who choose to travel without groups are dedicated to heaps of issues for example visas, tour plans, transport and accommodation and so on, tired and exhausted with much more time and energy spent.

However, traveling in a group with a tour guide also has some disadvantages which may make the trip less pleasant. When it comes to tour groups, every individual is morally obliged to obey the rules and orders raised by the tour guide, adding inconvenience to the whole trip while those individual travelers may not face this situation, enjoying themselves freely instead. In addition, the traveling atmosphere even gets worse when accompanied with travelers lacking in sense of team spirit, only to satisfy themselves in a selfish way, leaving the whole group waiting or finding them regardless of the time or space. In that way, traveling independently may be a better choice.

Moreover, when traveling in groups led by a tour guide, we may waste time and money unconsciously, creating more expenses or even trouble and chaos beyond expectation. Take a real case into consideration. As was reported on the Internet, a group traveling in Yun Nan Province were forced to buy souvenirs by their tour guide. When some travelers refused to do so, the tour guide unexpectedly took off a knife, leaving the whole group trapped in a bus with the door closed,threatening them to buy products. Though the issue was well solved ultimately, punishing those guilty and compensating for the involvers, it reflects that traveling in a group does not absolutely stand for safety and security generally speaking.

To put it in a nutshell, despite the convenience group tour may bring up in some cases, traveling in a group may force the travelers to keep to the tight plan unfreely and even put travelers into an unsafe situation to some extent. Accordingly, I am in disagreement with the statement that the best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide.