Do you agree or disagree with this idea Technology decrease children creativity Give your reasons

Technology has continued to advance since the internet expands the capacity of communicating with others. Through sharing creative ideas with others via technology, people enhance their creativity and innovation, which exemplifies countless new inventions such as smartphones and the various apps. Although technology has side effects for people, it has helped children to cultivate creativity than they were in the past.

First, technology allows people to gain better access to creative inspirations by communicating with others. More access people have to know others’ ideas and designs, the more they can learn from others. Expansion of the internet promotes the efficiency to do research, which encourages people to form their new ideas of problem-solving. Compared to the past, children are more familiar with using computers and smartphones these days. Not only adults but also children can take advantage of the technology to collect data and inspiration to develop new ideas and creativity.

Second, technology provides a variety of tools to express creativity. For example, people can create their songs by using music composition soft on their computers and share them through social media. Regardless of the physical distances with the original composers, other musicians can arrange the songs by adding new parts and corroborating with the artists. Since the internet and technology made it easier to show the artworks in the public, technology created more opportunities for people without formal education of arts to stimulate their creativity.

Third, despite those positive impacts of technology on creativity, heavy reliance on technology harms children. Creating a virtual world, technology separates children from the real world that is crucial for children. Children need hands-on experience to build motor skills and language development through physical activities involving five senses such as sight, touch, smell, sound, and taste. A lack of learning from real worlds can affect children to less understand how physical worlds and nature work. Without much interaction with the real world, children cannot have enough chances to engage in visual and spatial activities that are critical to enhancing multiple parts of brains. For example, while typing seems more convenient than writing on paper by hand by obviating such an onerous task, typing impairs long-term memory retention and deeper understanding. Since children are more vulnerable to those negative effects of technology, it is important to balance between technology and other real-world experiences to foster creativity.

In conclusion, technology paves the way for encouraging creativity by promoting more communications and collaborations with others. While children can benefit from technology to foster creativity, overreliance on technology is no panacea for childhood development. Since they are more at risk of harmful side effects of technology including internet and game addiction, children need to create a healthy balance with technology.