Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When people spend a lot of time watching sports on television or following their favorite team, does it have negative effects on their lives?

In the modern society, people love to enjoy the sports games in front of the television. Therefore, it raises the question that whether this behavior will bring the negative effects to the people. I take the position that if people spend a lot of time watching ball games, it will decrease their life standard.

First, the people who indulge in watching sports on television will have less time to complete the work important to them. To elaborate, if they spend the whole day watching the ball game, then they cannot concentrate on their own works. Take my classmates Jimmy for example. When Jimmy was a high school student, he was a big fan of baseball. Hence, after dinner, he would sit in front of the television and watched the baseball game for about four hours. Due to this habit, he did not have enough time to review his homework and often fail on the test, which made his parents feel disappointed. Thankfully, our teacher encouraged Jimmy to reduce the time of watching the baseball game until the university entrance test finished. And Jimmy followed our teacher's advice. Only watched the television on the weekend, causing him to pass with the flying colors in the entrance test and finally enter the best university in our country.

Furthermore, people who enjoy watching television for a long time might be lack of exercise, meaning that they are not healthy. The worst thing is that if they also do not have a regular and healthy diet habit because of longtime television watching, this will hurt them bodies seriously. Take myself for example. I favored watching basketball games at the university. That was why I always stayed in the dormitory to enjoy the exciting game and seldom went out. To have a more convenient watching surrounding, I would prepare popcorn and cola to replace my dinner. All of these decreased my health day by day and eventually, at one day I felt uncomfortable in the dormitory and was sent to the hospital. After recovering, I changed my lifestyle. Because I could not give up my favorite sport, I chose to play the basketball with my classmates instead of watching television in the dormitory. Besides, I also altered my eating habit and always cooked by myself to gain enough nutrition.

Many people may argue that spending a lot of time watching sports can learn a lot of knowledge about the ball games and sometimes can make friends with people having the common interest. However, I insist that we can learn additional sports knowledge and make friends from different sources such as joining a sports content. Therefore, do not be penny wise and pound foolish. The disadvantage of watching television for a long time exceeds its benefits.

In conclusion, I hold the belief it offers many negative effects on people life when they use a lot of time watching sports games. It not only makes people have less time to conduct the essential stuff but also decreases our health.