Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is inevitable that the teacher needs to design the class that suits the students and helps them to learn more. Therefore, it raises the question that whether we should assign the homework that students should work together or work alone. I hold the belief that cooperation is more important to students.

First, students can learn how to cooperate with others through the project which they must work together. To elaborate, the ability of co-working is essential in the modern society because the tasks now often are vast and complex, which cannot be handled by one person. Take myself for example. When I was the freshman, my political science professor assigned the project that we should introduce a policy by the team. To complete the project, I cooperated with my teammates. Some people searched for the data from the government and some people interview the citizens who were affected by the policy. And finally, we merge every teammate's hard working to finish this project. Through this experience, I fully understand the policy in our country. And if this assignment was asked to work alone, I think that I cannot conduct so many working, which made me could not realize the policy comprehensively.

Furthermore, students working together also can create some different perspective to look at the same thing. If in the team people all come from various fields, then they can exchange their background acknowledge and may make something innovative. Take my sister for instance. When she was a university student, her professor assigned the homework about the global warming. To really understand what was global warming and observed it affected, my sister who majored in environmental science worked with the other students from chemical, sociology and other fields. Through their long time discussing, they make out an innovative conclusion that they can place the little boxes at every place to detect the dioxide air and found out the real factor of the global warming.

Many people may argue that students can learn more from working alone because this can avoid the free-rider. In fact, I cannot disagree with the statement that the free-rider will decrease the benefit of the team-working. Nonetheless, I insist that the teacher can design the method to avoid free-rider, which can not only remain the benefit of the cooperation but also can puncture those people who only enjoy good score but are reluctant to work hard.

In conclusion, I take the position that cooperation can help students learn more because team-working is the essential ability now and it can also create some innovative ideas.