Do you agree or disagree that job has greater effect on your overall happiness than social life?

Nowadays, no one can ever deny that happiness is one of the most essential parts of the people’s life; thus, when it comes to the issue of the things which more effects on our happiness, some people may believe job has more influence on happiness than the social life does, and give some sound reasons for their opinion; however, others might have the opposite view. As far as I am concerned, I believe job has more effects on our happiness because of several reasons. In what follows, to assert my point of view, I will elaborate two of which.

The first and foremost reason that comes to my mind is in general, people should allocate about eight hours per day and also five days per week on their job; therefore, the office hours play a significant role in our life and obviously, have some undeniable effects in our daily life. In this case, my own experience indicates some effects of my ex-job on my life. Three years ago, I was hired in a well-known company as a process control engineer, and because of high responsibilities, my position was so stressful. Each day as I was coming home after more than an hour driving, I was pretty tired that I was couldn’t socialize with my family members, except the weekends, but as I have picked the new job which is less stressful and near my home, I can spend more time with my family and it makes me happier than the past.

The second reason that I would like to put my finger on is we should pay as we go. Let me put it in another way, the things that make people happy are their habits and entertainments such as traveling, going to clubs, restaurants, cafes with their family or friends and for which of them they should spend money, as a result, if they want more fun, they should have sufficient salary that supports the different aspects of their life. To illustrate, consider that you have to choose a job with a high amount of salary that allows you to buy everything you want and go anywhere you want to go, or a job with a low salary that supports your home rental cost and your daily needs. Which one do you prefer? Should anyone choose the second one? In one word, a part of our happiness is depended on our job’s salary.

To make a long story short, job hours are a considerable part of our daily life and what happens during this period would affect the other part of our life as well. And one more thing, the amount of salary allows people to use facilities and have their favorite habits and entertainments. As a result, with all this taken into account, I do believe that finding a good job will have conspicuous effects on our happiness.