The government can take a variety of actions to help protect the environment. Which one of the following do you think is the most important for the nation’s government to take to protect the environment?

1. Fund the research to develop environmentally friendly energy sources such as

solar and wind energy.

2. Preserve the natural places like forests and protect the animals that live there

3. Enforce laws to prevent the pollution of air

Since mankind’s creation, human activities always have had some negative effects on the environment. Thus, nowadays, most governments have been decided to set new policies in order to protect the environment. Although there are many different strategies to protect nature and the Earth, some people may believe that governments should fund the researches to develop environmentally friendly energy sources such as solar and wind energy, and give sound reasons to assert their opinion; however, others may have the opposite view and choose other policies like preserving the natural places and animals or enforcing laws to inhibit air pollution. As far as I am concerned, I believe governments should support green technologies and clean energy resources because of several reasons. In what follows, to assert my point of view, I will elaborate on two of which.

The first and foremost reason that comes to my mind is carbon emission is going to kill us gradually by global warming. In other words, due to human activities, particularly since the appearance of industrial revolution and technology advancements, fossil fuel consumption has been increased and it means more carbon and other greenhouse gases have been emitted to the atmosphere, today, it gives rise to global warming by the greenhouse effect. According to the scientific features released by environmental researches, forest fires, glacier melting, harsh droughts have been jumped in the last 50 years because of temperature rise. As a result, governments should restrict the high carbon emission industries by replacing fossil fuels with carbon-free energy resources such as wind and solar energy or other sources of clean energies.

The second point that I would like to put my finger on is despite the fact that the extraction of fossil fuels has some unavoidable negative effects on the environment and animal habitats, utilizing renewable energies are less destructive and pollutant. For instance, to extract a new coal stone mine, you should spend a lot of money in order to locate a new mine; besides, lots of things are needed such as cut the trees to build a road, excavation apparatuses and machines, exploding tools, and construction materials. Each of which, will destroy the ecosystem and also will cause serious damages to nature and the environment, on the other hand, you can use solar photo-voltaic cells in order to produce electricity or thermal solar collectors to use sun’s heat everywhere you want such as your house roof or yard. Therefore, air and water pollution will be decreased by using these kinds of energy sources.

To make a long story short, zero carbon emission technologies and energy sources will inhibit the temperature rising and also helps solve the global warming issue. Furthermore, the drawbacks of utilizing renewable against the disadvantages of fossil fuel extraction can be neglected. With all these taken into account, as we have only one Earth, it is highly recommended that governments should invest more finance sources to develop green technologies and clean energies.