Do you agree or disagree with the parents should let children make mistake and let them learn from their own mistake.

Nowadays, due to fierce competition in society, parents attach greater importance to children’s education, thus providing their children with more specific instructions and guides to avoid or correct their children’s mistakes. Some people claim that it is a good way to let children learn from parents’ instructions and experience. However, my view is that it is better for parents to allow children make mistakes and learn from their own mistakes.

Firstly, it is widely acknowledge that failure is mother to success as it can bring important experience and strengthen one’s will. One of my friends is working as the director of HR department of a top enterprise. She told me that according to a recent physiological research, a high-AQ (Adversity Quotient) workforce translates to increased capacity, productivity and innovation, as well as higher morale. Therefore, numerous top companies currently not only access candidates’ IQ and EQ, but also pay attention on their AQ, which refers to one’s ability to withstand pressures in front of adversity and failures. Learning from own mistakes is an optimal way to enhance children’s AQ. Since making mistakes will force little kids to face failures and they need to analyze the reasons, think about solutions and learn how to stand up after frustrations, all this experience will drive themselves to become high-AQ workforces. Edison is a case in point. Without more than 1000 failed attempts, he cannot invent the light bulb. When a reporter asked him, “How did it feel to fail 1000 times?” Edison replied, “I didn’t fail 1000 times. The light bulb was an invention with 1000 steps.” Thus, unsuccessful attempts and mistakes are of crucial importance for children’s education. Parents should understand that the road to success is paved with mistakes.

Moreover, instructions or guides are not as memorable as personal own experience. For little kids, mistakes are one of the most effective ways to learn from. For instance, my nephew is 5 years old now. He is a smart but naughty boy, who always wants to experience new things. Despite thousands of times his mother warned him that ‘do not touch the bottle of hot water on the table’, he still tried to feel the bottle. As you can imagine, he let out a cry so loud that birds surfaced from the marches for miles around. And right after that day, he never touches any bottles, which contains hot water. What’s more, when he visited my home one day and I gave him a cup of warm water, he even felt the heat carefully before took the cup and drunk the water. Hence, regarding learning and growing up, own mistakes defeat thousands of words from others.

Admittedly, parents cannot withstand cries and tears of their children. Consequently, they cannot control themselves to guide their children to avoid mistakes. However, no one accompany his/her kid during every minute of his/her life. If the child does not have any experience on how to face and handle mistakes, he/she may not be able to stand up independently when suffering failures. From what has been discussed above, I draw a conclusion that the best education that parents can give to their children is to let them make mistakes and learn from their own mistakes, because mistakes are valuable experience for them to enhance their AQ and own mistakes are effective and memorable than thousands of words.