Agree or disagree: people nowadays spend much more time than they should using text messages and new technologies such as social media to communicate with each other.

Technology has witnessed an unprecedented boom in recent years as people attach greater importance to improving their work and communication efficiency through developing and researching new technologies. However, some people claim that people nowadays spend much more time than they should using text messages and new technologies such as social media to communicate with each other. I cannot agree more on their opinion.

Firstly, social media has taken tremendous resources of time and energy of people. It is reported by Economist that currently, social media and online communication applications have occupied more than 50% of people’s leisure time. And such a huge amount of time could have been invested in other more meaningful things, such as study an interesting subject, developing a new skill or gathering with family members. As mentioned by Caitong in his book named ‘To dedicate yourself to progress’, the time of a life is limited and spending wisely the limited time is the one of the best ways to dedicate oneself to progress. He recommends people to consider 2 elements while deciding whether they should spend time on a thing/activity—yields and half-life. Yields mean the profits of such activity and half-life means the length of influence of such thing. And apparently, spending time on social media and text messages can bring us high yields of delightedness and relaxation. However, the half-life of this activity is pretty short. It will not influence much on one’s life over the following days or the rest of his/her life. Therefore, by spending most time on social media, a person’s life may always stay in a same level or even a lower level of his/her life’s quality due to others may surpass and replace him/her by spending time on valuable activities which have higher yields and longer half-life.

Moreover, text massages and social media have invaded or even replaced some of necessary daily communication with our family and important friends, which is sometimes harmful to these relationships. For example, an increasing amount of couples breaks up with each other by text messages only. In my opinion, such method to end up a serious relationship is way too hasty and light. And it may give way to misunderstandings of such relationship. To be more specific, one of my friends broke up with her 2-year boyfriends over phones because she suspects that he was cheating on her. And due to the convenience of texting and the nervousness and foreseeable troublesome to meet him in person, they quarreled and broke up with each other only by phones. However, in our latest reunion, they finally got the chance to meet and chat with each other. Her ex-boyfriend suddenly realized the root cause of that quarrel and only then did she realize that all her thoughts and suspect were based on misunderstandings by texting words. Thus, people are indeed use way too much time on social media and text messages when communicating with their valuable friends and family members which they really shouldn’t do so.

Admittedly, social media and text messages provide us with convenience to communication with others regardless of distances. However, we had better use social media and text messages as tools when necessary and should not be addicted to them, as spending too much time on them. From what has been discussed above, I draw a conclusion that I agree that we are spending more time than we should on social media and text messages because we have invested tremendous leisure time in them and they have invaded our daily communication with the people who matter in our life.