Do you agree or disagree: The way people dress is a good indication of his or her personality or character.

Is the dress a good indication of people’s personality and character? Dress sometimes can imply the cultural background, age and preferences of a person, but a certain person with his/her own personality may also dress different types of clothing. Hence, my answer is yes-and-no: dress can indicate some personality of several people but it is not always a true and effective indication.

To begin with, personal tastes, interests and ages sometimes can be inferred from people’s dress. For example, a bunch of my husband’s colleagues who work in IT industry and most of whom are intelligent and anti-social tend to prefer wearing T-shirts and jeans. Whereas, my colleagues who commute in the financial center often dress fancily and stylishly. They spend considerable time on ironing shirts and choosing smart suites and most of them are social and talkative. Thus, dress sometimes can trace the personal taste and profession of certain people. What’s more, a meticulous person can also speculate another's age from their dress. To be more specific, the younger mostly prefer trendy suites and flamboyant apparel while the elder may show greater preferences towards classic suites and low-key luxury. Consequently, dress could be a powerful hint of personal character at some degree.

However, does the dress always tell the complete truth? I doubt so because a certain person in a certain day with a certain personality can dress in totally different styles. Take my own life experience as an example. In the daytime, from 9am to 6pm, I’m working as a management consultant in a skyscraper. I normally wear close-fitting formal dress, which are mostly black, white and grey. Right after 6pm, before I step out the building, I usually change the tight and uncomfortable dress to a relaxed T-shirt with a colorful skirt and then head to meet my friends and have a drink. Then, what is my personality, introverted or extroverted, realistic or romantic, industrious or ingenious? I believe it’s hard to tell only based on the tiny piece of cloth. I even once heard from my client that ‘when I firstly saw you in a professional smart suite with a pair of black-famed glasses, I thought you were a serious and unsmiling person. But after talking and cooperating with you these days, I’m surprised that you are so humorous and vivacious.’ Now you can see, dress as a hint of personality is not always reliable.

As a consequence, if you ask me the aforementioned question, I will argue that the way people dress can be a clue to trace their character. However, it would not be always true and effective. People had better consider other relevant factors, such as languages, articles and origins, before drawing a conclusion or a judgment towards another person.