Do you agree or disagree? Rather than help children with their schoolwork, parents should encourage their children do their work independently.

Schoolwork has a tremendous role in the educational process as students can apply what they learned by doing their schoolwork. But the issue about parents should help their children with their homework or not is still controversial. In my opinion, I agree with this statement that rather than help children with their schoolwork, parents should encourage their children to do their work independently. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, encouraging children to do their assignments on their own will help them to widen their comprehension and learn from their errors. For instance, when I was child, my parents were helping me in my schoolwork. Actually, I was feeling stressed and anxious because I did not want to make mistakes in front of them. I had to memorize the lessons that I had taken in schools without deep understanding and that made my mind closed. But after I reached high schools which I had to study by myself, I faced many problems in studying in the beginning. I failed in two subjects in my freshman year, but failing is a good way to success. I learned to use the internet to widen my knowledge. I watched many scientific video and read many articles whenever I faced any difficult topic. Consequently, I could accept information readily and faster than before. Thus, letting our children to study on their own has a great impact on their comprehension.

Second of all, students who do their assignments by themselves have a sense of achievements than the students who seek help from their parents. For instance, when I was at college, I had to a presentation on the anti depressant drug. I actually spent many hours in the library reading books and using the internet to come up with a great project, and all my hard work had paid off. I got honors in this project. This honor boosts me to exert all my effort in studying to improve my career. Hence, parents should motivate their children to do all their assignments independently and just give them gifts to let them feel a sense of achievements.

To sum up, although there are dissenting views for this issue, I agree with this statement that rather than help children with their schoolwork, parents should encourage their children to do their work independently for two reasons, it will help children to open their minds and they will feel the sense of achievements.