Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Schools have always offered students three type of after-school activities. But due to recent limited budget, they can only support one kind of activities. Which one would you choose? Why?

1.sports

2.arts

3.volunteering

Currently, with the accumulated material affluence, society is attaching more importance to the education of students, especially their after-school activities. A bunch of individuals reckon that students ought to participate volunteer activities so as to cultivate them to be altruistic, while others harbor the idea that taking part in some art activities is the optimal choice since it is conducive to improve students’ aptitude of appreciating. Personally speaking, I can hardly concur with the listed opinions for reasons as follows.

To start with, nowadays, due to the society full of fierce and intense competition, students are prone to freak out under the excessive school assignments assigned by different faculties, which makes their eyes have to glue to books or computer screens for hours even a whole day. Therefore, students are suffering from both the physical health and mental health problems. Regarding this issue, participation in after-school sports is conducive to them. Initially, after a whole day sedentary study, they can stretch out their arms and legs so as to relax their muscles which are contracted while seating. Meanwhile, the movement also enables them to accelerate their blood circulation to maintain cardiovascular health. Apart from that, during the sports activities, students are capable of relieving their insurmountable pressure not only through talking with their fellows but also through exhausting themselves by vibrant exercises. Therefore, participating in after-school sports activities contributes to students’ health both mentally and physically.

What’s more, encouraging students to participate in sports activities is also beneficial for students to enhance their interpersonal skills and sense of cooperation. Owing to the one-child policy implemented in China, this generation of children is lack of chance to communicate with other peers and some of them are even spoiled by their parents, which impedes them from having interaction with other individuals. Under this circumstance, it is essential to stimulate them to get involved in sports activities since sports are optimal opportunities for students to interact with each other. To be more specific, in a team sport, students, born with competitive spirits, are eager to win the battle. Owing to the competitive spirits, they have to discuss their strategies utilized in the competition, thus rendering them an opportunity to hone their interpersonal skills, including how to convey their ideas clearly, how to persuade others while complying with etiquette. Additionally, based on the strategies they make, what they need to do is making concerted efforts to gain the upper hand during the rivalry and it ensures that they are capable of having a deep comprehension of the old saying “every a little makes a mickle”, which boost their sense of collaboration and improve their pragmatic skills useful in finding employment in future.

Admittedly, arts and volunteer activities have their perks. Arts render students with opportunities to appreciating masterpieces, while volunteer activities not only enable the school to facilitate its reputation but also foster students’ spirits of help. Nevertheless, compared to the benefits generated from after-school sports activities, these merits seem lackluster.

In a nutshell, considering the advantageous effects on maintaining healthy and sharpening students’ collaboration and interaction skills, it is the preferred option for the school to support the sports activities based on the limited budget.