Some people have ambitious dreams and keep pursuing them, but other people always focus on realistic goals and try to achieve them. Which do you think is better and why?

With the media industry thriving in recent decades, the public can have access to news from various sources, such as televisions, radios and the internet. However, some people think the media are becoming less reliable than in the past. As far as I’m concerned, I agree with this opinion for following reasons.

First off, in order to get high audience or click rate, some media may report news without further verification, which may lead to a higher incidence of incorrect news. With the boom of new media, people tend to get information from various social networks, such as Twitter and Facebook, other than conventional TV and newspapers. Since people now have more flexibility as to where to watch news. Media companies are thus competing fiercely with each other for a higher market share more than ever. Plus, living in such an updating society, the public are unprecedentedly eager to be instantly informed about what is happening around the world. Given the existing competition from their counterparts and increasing demand for news timeliness from customers/patrons, some news reporters may sacrifice accuracy of news for its timeliness, since they know their coverage will have a better chance of getting the highest audience or click rate if they make the timeliest report of hot events. Even, they might elaborately fabricate stories to gain public attention.

Secondly, these days, the credibility and expertness of media practitioners are deteriorating. Due to the proliferation of new media, the practicing threshold of this industry has been lowered. In the past, only those with qualifications can be recognized as news reporters, while at present, one’s social network account can serve as a platform for the expression of public opinions and information. For example, a blogger with over 10 million followers can be more influential in people’s perspective of particular news event than a famous journalist.However, if they haven’t received proper training in journalism, they probably lack objective perspective and are thus not so professional at presenting a particular news event to the public in an unbiased and professional manner as qualified media practitioners do. So they may generate unfaithful news without realizing its inaccuracy. What’s more,the spread of a piece of news is so fast in this information era no matter it is real or not, adding to the non-negligible incidence of fake news. Not to mention the notorious companies which make use of media hype to promote their products.

Admittedly, the supervision/surveillance from the authorities and the public can lower the chance of inaccurate news to some degree. And the majority of media are reporting news under certain laws.While the incidence of inaccurate news remains high because of the low price the media would have to pay if they violate the rule and the insufficient supervision on new media professionals.

A conclusion can be drawn that the media are less concerned about the accuracy of news owing to the pursuit of high audience rate and the lowered credibility of media practitioners.