do you agree or disagree? teachers should not make their political or social views known in the classrooms?

Since the beginning of the last century, the education has become very significant to our community. Teachers are the most influential factor in the learning process, given that students are affected with their behaviors and ideas. Some people hold the view that teaches should be allowed to reveal their political view in the classrooms, however there is a solid body of evidence that casts doubts in this belief. From a personal perspective, teachers should not make any social or political views known to students given that they could mislead students, waste their time, and trigger a dispute. Below I will strive my supporting points in more details.

The fist and foremost point, teachers may hold wrong or bad political view. For example in Egypt during the president election on 2013 some of the teachers wanted to vote to the Muslim Brotherhood candidate and they started to convince the students to vote to the same candidate because they have special agenda which had a bad impact on the Egyptian society. provided that teachers hold an unfair political view, they may mislead the students. Moreover, some of the students look to their teachers as a role models; so they could follow their behavior. Consequently, teachers should not state their political and social point of view in classrooms.

Next, coupled with mislead, wasting time is another reason why teachers should not make their political views known. Talking about the political subjects may not benefit the students academically. The noteworthy refreshing intelligible statistics revealed by a recent survey conducted by Oxford university found that debate on the political stuffs inside the classrooms could waste students’ time and minimize the learning potential outcomes. Furthermore, there are lots of important subjects that students should learn about to keep themselves update about the huge progress and improvement in several filed such as science and literature, any time waste can delay or jeopardize students’ success. Therefore, teachers should focus on teaching the academic subjects.

Although the previous reasons are the first ones which cross the mind at a glance, they are not the only reasons available. In fact, there is another subtle point which should be born in mind. Teaches post their political point of views, student may support or oppose each attitude according to their received information or conducted research. To put it in another word, students could differ in their political attitude which could trigger a dispute between them. Provided that teachers cannot control the conversation between the students, it can adversely affect their relationships. As a result, losing friends can be a negative impact of sharing political views by teachers.

Taking everything into consideration, without a doubt the teachers should not talk about their political and social perspectives in the classrooms. It is suggested that schools inform their teachers about the negative impacts of sharing political views in the classrooms.