do you agree or disagree? teachers should not make their political or social views known in the classrooms?

Since the beginning of the last century, education has become very significant to our community. Teachers are the most influential factor in the learning process, given that students are affected by their behaviors and ideas. Some people believe that teachers should reveal their political views in the classrooms; however, there is a substantial body of evidence that casts doubts in this belief. From a personal perspective, teachers should not make any social or political views known to students, given that they could mislead students, waste their time. Below I will strive my supporting points in more detail.

The first and foremost point, teachers may hold the wrong or bad political view. For example, in Egypt during the presidential election 2013, some of the teachers had a personal agenda which harmed the Egyptian society. They wanted the Muslim Brotherhood candidate to win, so they tried to convince the students to vote for this candidate. Provided that teachers hold an unfair political view, they may mislead the students. Moreover, some of the students look to their teachers as role models; so they could follow their behavior. Consequently, teachers should not state their political and social point of view in classrooms.

Next, coupled with misleading, wasting time is another reason why teachers should not make their political views known. Talking about the political subjects may not benefit the students academically. A recent survey conducted by Oxford University found that debate on the political stuff inside the classrooms could waste students' time and minimize the potential learning outcomes. Furthermore, there are lots of important subjects that students should learn about to keep themselves updated. The considerable progress and improvement in several filed such as science and literature make any time-wasting can delay or jeopardize students' success. Therefore, teachers should focus on teaching academic subjects.

Although the previous reasons are the first ones which cross the mind at a glance, they are not the only reasons available. There is another subtle point that should be born in mind. Teachers post their political points of view, and students may support or oppose each attitude according to their received information or conducted research. To put it in other words, students could differ in their political attitude, which could trigger a dispute between them. Provided that teachers cannot control the conversation between the students, it can adversely affect their relationships. As a result, losing friends can be a negative impact of sharing political views by teachers.

Taking everything into consideration, without a doubt, the teachers should not talk about their political and social perspectives in the classrooms. It is suggested that schools inform their teachers about the negative impacts of sharing political views in the classes.