Do you agree or disagree that TV and movies have positive effect?

As the development of technology, we have more choices about what we want to see on TV or movies. That is to say, an increasing number of people argue about whether watching TV and movies has more positive or negative effect. For my opinion, I consider that the positive effect is larger than negative effect for the following reasons.

First, we can learn a lot of knowledge and messages. For example, when you see the TV program ‘’Discovery’’, you will learn a lot about animals’ living habits and environmental habitats like rain forests or deserts. In addition, we can watch cartoon or interest talk show on TV to relax ourselves or watch some programs discussing what happened recently to understand what people think from different perspectives. Second, we can understand different cultures and specific topics through movies. Take Bollywood movie three idiots as an example. We can learn about India, like eating habit, traditional concepts and local live style. Furthermore, the movie discusses the problem of education. It tells us that we shouldn’t just regard high master or doctor degrees and high salary work as success. What we have to do is to follow our heart and learn happily. That’s why I think that TV and movies have a positive effect.

In contrast, some people may claim that TV and movies bring negative effect. For instance, when you open the TV, it’s easy to find some programs and news talk about sex, violence and famous people’s scandals. Some consider that these topics are not suitable for children because they may receive wrong concepts. However, I think it is adults’ responsibilities and an opportunity to teach their children what information is correct and how to choose helpful messages.

In sum, despite that TV and movies possess negative effect, it’s inevitable for people to avoid TV and movies during their life. Once we know how to differentiate what is correct and helpful, we can benefit a lot from TV and movies.