Do you agree or disagree?in the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives

Nowadays, it is commonly accepted that young people have more effort to make decisions about their own lives. Because children growing condition is very different from which young people had in the past. Contrary to this popular belief, there are still those who argue that today young people are still so depended to their parents about important decisions. However, I, to a great extent, agree with this idea in the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them and today young people are better able to make a decision about their own lives.

First and foremost, today the methods of training at home and education in school prepare children for independent decision making in future. Now children's ideas are listening seriously by parents and teachers. Therefore, they obtain courage to make a decision for own lives. But in the past, any children's opinion strongly suppressed by adults. For example, my grandmother says that when she was young, her parents never do involve her in any decisions for the family or even for herself.

Another significant fact that should be taken into consideration today most people between the age of 20 to 30, be separated from their family through study or getting a job in another city. When people experienced physical far, they unintentionally obtain some abilities. For example, they should cooking, buying, managing and making decisions by themselves. For instance, when I was 22 I went to Isfahan for academic study. I was really worried about choosing a roommate, but I had to decide alone because my parents were not around.

Finally, yet importantly, today young people have access to more information resources. Development in technology and social networks connected all people around the world together. However, in the past young people just meet very few people and they had traveled to other areas rarely. It led to they did not achieve the principal background knowledge for decision making, so they were more confident to left this task to their parents.

On the basis of reasons that were mentioned above, I am convinced that today young people are more able to make decisions about own lives than young ones in the past. Because they prepare by family and society for independent decision making, society pushes us forward to do it and we have obtained the required background knowledge to do it.