Do you think employers should make it mandatory for older staff to take additional college courses in order to keep up with changes in their industry? Why?

It is axiomatic that in today's sophisticated world, the enjoyment of a well-informed workforce plays a vital role in thriving an industry. Besides, being familiar with the new generation of technology is a prerequisite for meeting this goal. To be more specific, the techniques and theories that veterans have learned, even a decade ago, are becoming increasingly obsolete and cannot be useful as a whole. By considering this, I firmly believe that forcing older staff to take additional college courses is, to some extent, reasonable, which enables companies to set themselves apart from other competitors and keep up with the ever-increasing rate of emerging technologies.

First, by not having adequate knowledge of today's state-of-the-art technology, older staff cannot handle projects as they ought to. With the development of industry, the workforce should, undoubtedly, be equipped with a variety of knowledge on how to adjust the equipment to work correctly. To be sure, the lack of sufficient insight into their field of study will lead them to be more error-prone in carrying out their tasks, so it causes forfeiture of money. From another perspective, it seems that as the older staff loyalty has been proven to the company, forcing them to broaden their horizons would be a kind of foresight. That is to say, by hinging on new-hired employees, companies may face dire strait. As an illustration, if another company offers more pay, the likelihood of a novice workforce dropping out of their current occupation and becoming eager to be employed in the new company is greater than the older staff. The point is that relying on particular employees can be problematic to such an extent that it turns a lucrative company into a debt-laden one and culminates in bankruptcy.

Second, the staff’s scientific level discrepancy can be a hotbed of disaccord in any workplace. As is evident to anyone, holding a position in a company has become more complicated than before, and young people need to put in a great deal of time and effort to be qualified for a particular company interview. Under such a circumstance, newly-hired staff expect their co-workers to be at their level, enabling them to share their thoughts and become prosperous in the workplace. Above all, should the staff not be at the same status, not only will they not be able to put their ideas into practice, but it is also more likely that it lays the foundation for unhealthy competition among old and new staff. In other words, the senior personnel tries to undermine the younger ones' abilities to maintain their prestige. As a result, the younger workers will be under pressure, and the workplace will be stressful. This means that the greater the equality of scientific level of staff, the better the chances of keeping up with the changes in the industries.

In conclusion, forcing older staff to take additional college courses provides better workplace conditions. This is because senior employees will become more knowledgeable, and companies will not rely only on the newly-hired workforce. Another reason is that the co-workers' opinions will not be so different from one another's, and they can work more in coordination with each other, which will result in a greater chance of coming up with a novel idea.