Do you agree or disagree with the following statement:

Students should take at least a year to work or travel before beginning college?

Please use specific details and examples in your answer.

I strongly believe that many students can benefit from a year of work or travel before starting their college education.

Most students finish high school around the age of 18. Young adults of this age are often filled with conflicting ideas about their future and lack focus and direction. Having a one-year break from education helps provide them with a time to experiment and satisfy some of their curiosity. Many students may wonder what it is like to work a full-time job. Others may be very curious about the world around them and take to travel. When I finished high school, I lacked a clear life plan and couldn’t decide what I wanted to study at university. My parents suggested I take some time off and explore my opportunities. I worked full time for six months at a local café and learned the pleasures and burdens of full-time employment. I gained a few new job and life skills while saving some money. With the money I saved, I purchased a round-trip ticket to Japan. This was to be my first time out of the country and it filled me with nervous excitement. I spent four months in Japan meeting new people, eating new foods, and exploring the world around me. When I finally returned home, I came back with many new experiences that helped guide me when I selected a university and declared a major. Without this time off, I doubt very much that I would have found such direction and passion.

Another reason why taking time off before starting university is a good idea is that more and more, universities are looking to diversify their student population by recruiting outstanding students that have unique life experiences. Taking time off between high school and college is a great way for students to find internships or travel the world. I even have some friends that have done overseas internships. When they returned home and applied for university, the university recruiters found that their experiences made them much stronger candidates than some of the other applicants who lacked similar experiences. Having work experience or travel experience helps young adults mature and helps prepare them for the rigorous workload of college life.

I strongly recommend students to take a year off after high school and before college. In the grand scheme of things, one year is not a long time and won’t put you behind your peers. If students use this time to travel and work, then they will receive invaluable practical experience that will benefit them in their university careers.