Jack is an retired worker, and he enjoys free life in the past decade. He has a great amount of time on recreation which means he have more time to follow his idol. His favorite celebrity is Michael Jordan who is one of the best basketball players ever. Jack had admired him for more than twenty years. He is definitely eligible to be a faithful fan of Jordan. The example is fictional, however the phenomenon is typical. Celebrities are inevitable for old people, because they have admire their idols for many years, meanwhile, they own more free time compared to young people

Previously, old people are more idolatrous because they will be more likely to have long-term adoration. Keeping focus on a celebrity over time, concentrating on news about that person, will form a totally different from admiring a idol for just few months. Any unfortunate incidents on the celebrity that have been adored are deeply-moving to its fans. If that celebrity is slandered by interviewer, its fans will feel infuriated as itself, which means even fans and the person with great fame are not closely related before, through out time, unperceivable relationship will form.

Simultaneously, old people are generally retired which means having more amusement time than young people who are normally studying at school or working at companies. They will feel quite bored and may start to dawdle. Celebrity could be a spice in old people's life, old people can consume part of their time by following their idols.

Some people's opinion is that old fans cannot be as enthusiastic as young fans, because their old age. Nevertheless, age is just a state of number. For example in UK, there used to be a old man who was a fan of Stallone. And he determined to exercise and build his body as strong as his idol. After a year, he succeeded. Hardly a young man will own as great determination and enthusiasm.

In conclusion, old people will rely on celebrities more than young people.