Friends are an indispensable part of our lives without whom we are not complete human beings /we cannot live a full life/. In this regard, personally, I am prone to believe that it is more important to maintain friendships with the old friends than to be able to build new friendships easily. I hold this opinion since old friends are the best friends; and it is impossible to have many friends.

To begin with, the real friends are the ones who we know for a long time and on whom we may rely. There is a clear connection between the time period we know a person and the extent to which we trust them. This is explained by the fact that we need to get to know a person for a long time not to avoid asking them /him or her/ for help or assistance, and only /the/ old friends may meet these criteria. For example, I know my best friend for about 20 years, and this fact gives me confidence that he will never betray me or try to advise wrong things. This is the reason that I refer to him whenever I am in a trouble, or need advice and help. Thus, the longer and the better you know a person, the higher /are/ chances that you will make friendship with him /them/.

Additionally, no one has a lot of people nearby who might be treated as friends since building friendships is quite a complicated thing. People should have common interests, shared values, even common background to be able to maintain friendships. Therefore, it is logical to conclude that a lot of energy and devotion is needed from the both sides to become friends. My sister, for instance, makes new acquaintances easily thanks to her well-developed communicative skills.

Overall, though, she has only three people close enough to be called friends. She explains this by the fact that friends are exclusive people who are not found in life easily. Consequently, the number of friends can never be large.

To sum up briefly, we can make acquaintances quite frequently, but building friendships is not a wide-spread thing. This and the fact that we cannot obtain plenty of friends determine the importance of maintaining the old friends.