Even if science and technology would continue to advance and improve the quality of people' lives, the most significant improvements have already taken place.

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Since Industrial Revolution, there have been a great deal of great inventions appearing in people’s lives: locomotives, lights, computers and airplanes, you name it. Each one of them has fundamentally transformed peoples’ lives. No wonder there are people saying that the most significant improvements have already taken place regardless of how further science and technology would take us in the future. However, I still think it is too early to say so and we will never know what life would surprise us in the future.

Firstly, one could agree on me if he or she takes a reflection throughout our history to see how gradually the inventions perfect themselves. As for transportations, people might have been greatly impressed by the steam train back in 18 Century powered by steams with the speed of 20-30 miles per hour, thinking their lives had been legendarily refined by this renowned creation. Then came the combustion engine which gave power to diesel locomotive boasting its speed of 85 kilo meters an hour. With the development of technology,the diesel locomotive was beaten later by electrical train with the speed of 210 kilo meters per hour. Proudly now, high speed train, one again, awed huma beings with a faster speed up to 260 kilo meters an hour. Let alone the maglev train, which might speed to more than 500 kilo meters per hour. Till today, people still have foggy idea about what to expect next about transportation. This example applies not only to transportation, but also other fields. People’s lives have been refined time and time again by the great inventions. Hence, it is hard to say we have already got the most significant improvements.

Secondly,the most crucial thing that motivates scientists and inventors to rack their brains to make a greater move is people’s desire and we all know that people’s desire will never be satisfied. It will always serve as an urge to help inventors to march forward. Take a look at cleaning tools in our daily lives. Women were always complaining about mops at the very beginning. Leaning forward to hold them and cleaning corners of house are too excruciating. Luckily, their voice must have been heard by inventors. Inventors made cleaning robot which could suck wastes and dusts from floor and what women do was effortlessly to press a start button. And who knows what women are thinking about when they have already had the robot in their hands. Surely there will more to be expect to come to perfect our lives because human beings’ desires are never to be satiated.

Thirdly, people’s needs vary from one to one. Thus, it is never safe to say what is the greatest improvements for people’s lives. For a housewife, perhaps it is a better tool to help her escape from daily chores. For a physician, it could be an advanced operation equipment to save lives. Since there are various of definitions about the greatest improvement, we just cannot simply jump to a conclusion that there is nothing to expect our future lives.

All in all, our lives would be even better than now with the aid of technology and science for the history has told us so.