The extended family (grandparents , cousins , aunts, and uncles ) is less important now than it was in the past

Family isn't what it used to be compared to the past because everything changes over the years that passes. Now everyone chooses who they want to deal with. In the past you could just visit family members such as grandma's house to have a good time or just to hang out.

Aunts and uncles chooses which kids to be proud of. Brothers and sisters treat friends more like family. Cousins talk about each other like they aren't connected by blood. Grandparents spend time with their favorite grand child. And the only time you see everything together is at a funeral.

The age gap also plays a role in today's society. For example if you have a sibling who is twice your age they will think that you are too childish to participate in certain things. Or you will get laughed at about certains things you don't know or if you make a simple mistake.

The way people are living also plays a role in today's society because in the past an entire family lives together in one house because people were really poor back in the days and even if you marry into the family you'll still live with the entire family. Nowadays families have their own houses and chooses to live really far from each other so other people won't be in their business and due the fact that they live really far from each other they will communicate a lot more less than in the beginning

Family means showing up when they need it the most and helping people. It means having each other's backs

Family members nowadays don't care about what you will do with your life as long you don't bring shame to the family that's all it matters for them And that you don't bring problems or troubles which they have to clean up after you. One wrong doing and you will be labelled as the black sheep of the family. The black sheep is often just the person who sees through everyone else's lies

Family in the past would have loved you no matter what eventhough there will still be disagreements here and there but they are willing to listen to your reasons and help you eventhough there will still be some family members who won't love you but the majority would.

Nowadays family members just walk past you like they don't know you at all and give you the cold shoulder and there is nothing you can do about it

There will be family members who won't love with because of your attitude or your personality but you shouldn't fred about it because as long you love yourself that's all it matters. Don't expect too much from certain family members. The less you expect the less disappointed you will be when they let you down. Don't worry about the family members who ignores and acts like you don't matter, love the ones who are always there for you no matter what