getting advice from friends who are older than you is more valuable than getting that from your peers

Human beings have always been subjected to different communications and advices. Due to its paramount importance in our daily life, a heated debate exists over whether what is the best source for taking valuable recommendations. While some people believe that people who have the same age like us present advices effectively, some others, including me, have an opposite viewpoint. Regarding this point, I strongly believe that older people than us will give advices better than our peers. Not only they have a lot of experience, but also it is less likely that they can be considered as our rivals in different circumstances. In what follows, I will scrutinize the most outstanding reasons.

The first aspect to point out is that, the more years living in the world, the more valuable experiences will be obtainable for people. There is no doubt that, people confront with different conditions during their lifetime. Hence, each of them brings them invaluable experiences that can have profound effects on others. I mean, when a person presents his advices on a specific issue to others, in fact, he or she paves the way for them in order to prevent making probable mistakes. Let's consider a climbing leader who has been in different climate conditions during his previous activities. Needless to say when he gives practical advices about needed equipment in heavy snowy climates, the conditions will be safer for people who wants to follow this way. Meanwhile, people who have the same age to us cannot pinpoint all the details because of lacking enough experience.

A further more significant point is that, older people often are not our rivals. They passed the stages that we deal with them. Therefore, there is not often any benefits for them to repudiates giving invaluable advices. Consequently, their advices will be more reliable. For instance, I had been working for three years as a designer before I entered the art school. My close friend as a classmate has always been sensitive to my works. In fact, he was my main rival while we had a friendly relationship. I stopped paying attention to his advices when I recognized his hidden competition. In fact, what he gave to me, as recommendations were misleading. As a result, I met critical challenges with his advices. After that, I decided to just pay attention to my teacher as a reliable source.

In brief, by taking into account all the aforementioned reasons, it seems that getting advices from people who are older than us is a rational strategy to be successful in the upcoming events throughout the lifetime.