good teachers are those who set challenging tasks for the students. Those teachers who tend to set difficult assignments for their students

I can hardly agree with the idea that good teachers are those who set challenging tasks for the students. Those teachers who tend to set difficult assignments for their students may repulse the students and the students may develop bad feelings towards studying in general. Intricate tasks for students may be a primary source of stress and anxiety and this is especially true for children who attend elementary schools. If the assignments are too difficult for them, they will become anxious and it directly affects their performance in other aspects of their life. For instance they may not enjoy their free time or engage in other activities like playing with their friends because they may think that they are wasting their time and they have more important things to do. Also they may worry about their teacher’s attitude towards their lack of ability to fulfill a task. Challenging tasks bring about poor self-esteem and lack of confidence should the child fail to complete them. They may also develop phobia thinking that their parents and friends will deride them for their failure and this fact can yield to depression. In my opinion, there are several hallmarks that define a good teacher. First, good teachers are learned and they possess vast amount of knowledge in their field of expertise. The purpose of teaching is the exchange of information and a teacher is supposed to convey the information in a concise and clear way. A class which is not informative for the students tends to get boring. Another important characteristic of a good teacher is their patience. They should be able to tolerate students and answer their questions in the best possible way that they can. For example some of the worst classes that I had during high school were those in which we were not allowed to ask questions and the teacher would have considered our questions as insults. To summarize, I think that good teachers are not those who set challenging tasks and expect results, but rather those who appreciate students' participation in class and welcome their questions. Harsh teaching methods will result in lack of confidence in children and are the primary source of stress for them.