The government can take a variety of actions to help protect the environment. Which one of the following do you think is the most important for the nation’s government to take to protect the environment?

1-Fund research to develop environmentally friendly energy sources such as solar and wind energy.

2-Preserve the natural places like forests and protect the animals that live there.

3- Enforce laws to prevent the pollution of air and water by large companies.

In the modern era, all developed countries are filled with a large diversity of gigantic companies. In such countries, you can see a large number of cars and other vehicles moving in the streets every day. The more gigantic companies and vehicles there are in a country, the more environmental pollution that country faces. Today it is a very controversial question among all developed nations what actions should be taken to help protect the environment. There are a large number of actions which can be taken to prevent the pollution of environment, three of which are mentioned in the question. Every single action is crucially important by itself, but among the three mentioned actions, I suppose that funding research to develop environmentally friendly energy sources such as solar and wind energy is the most prominent action to be taken first. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most important reasons.

The first reason coming to my mind to substantiate my standpoint is concerned with this issue that actions related to not producing pollutants is much more beneficial than actions for removing pollutants after producing a large amount of them. There is an old saying that an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure. By using environmentally friendly energy sources such as solar and wind energy for companies and vehicles there will not be any pollutants produced and transferred to the environment and it will not be needed to try different ways and methods to eliminate such pollutants from environment. For example one of the biggest carpet factories in Kashan has started using solar energy for most of its major machines since three years ago. This factory has been acclaimed by environmental department of the country for two successive years, since it is the factory that produces the least amount of pollutants among all carpet factories in Kashan.

Another equally significant point is that by doing research to develop such sources of energy, one country can reduce its costs related to energy in a massive amount and it can prosper economically. Since current sources of energy such as fossil fuels are very expensive and also they are very difficult to reach for most countries, developing environmentally friendly sources of energy, source of which are available in the nature, is more cost effective. By doing research on these sources of energy and finding the most efficient way to produce them, every nation can easily produce them and reduce its costs of buying other sources of energy from other countries. Furthermore, it has been reported that the source of fossil fuels in the countries which have large amount of them will be diminished in a few years. Thus, it should be a very important plan for every nation to develop its uses of other sources of energy such as wind and solar energy.

From what has been discussed above, we may safely reach the conclusion that although all actions mentioned in the question are crucial enough to be taken by government, funding research to develop environmentally friendly energy sources is the first action to be taken. It is hard to disguise the fact that today a very little number of countries use these sources of energy. However, considering the numerous benefits of them, two of which are mentioned above, it is anticipated that in future more developed countries turn their attention to these sources of energy.