Government should put tax on unhealthy food to promote better health. Do you agree or disagree?

Maintain good health is the prime responsibility of every human being. But, these days it is hard to do so, because of the easy availability of the unhealthy foods in the market. The federal government should increase taxes on junk meals so that people start to buy healthy foodstuff and promote good health. I personally agree with this statement, and I am going to explain it in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, imposing taxes on the harmful food products will make it too expensive to destitute. This will force people to prepare meals at home. To exemplify this, according to the report of the World Health Organization that, the government of Sri Lanka has announced the taxation of sugary drinks to lower down the risks of obesity, diabetes and cardiovascular diseases. Thus, taxation on sugary drinks would enable policy makers to improve health outcomes by reducing unhealthy consumptions.

Another point to consider, if the governments are imposing tariffs on the convenience eatables, there exist myriad solutions to tackle it. First, it is very necessary to self-restrain yourself from having too much of street food or we can get rid of cravings with exercise. People should stay off buying everything that is placed on the shelf. We have an expression, ‘food is not love’. Ergo, while one eats or fed it does not need affection, but attention is one of the greatest importances.

In conclusion, Imposing more tax on eatables is not only the solution. They should spread the awareness of self-discipline towards our eating pattern because it is important to achieve the mantra ‘Health is wealth’. To do so, the government and the public must go hand in hand.