Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

I disagree with that governments should spend more money on the arts than on athletics due to several reasons as following.

Firstly, the investment on athletics can help them achieve a better grade in international competition, representing a honor of a country. If government put more money on hiring famous coaches and building more sports facilities, the athletics will make a difference. For example, in China, the president announced that sports can help citizens healthy and Chinese government invested lots of money on sports such as ping pang. Before the investment, although we are good at playing small balls because of our physical advantages, we did not achieve any grades in any global competition. After our government emphasis on the development of sports, our ping pang team got champion in Olympic within a few years. Compared with the investment on arts, money spent on the athletics can bring much more to a country. Not only the great grades in competition, it can also help improve the relationship between China and the United States because of the famous historical events, called Ping Pang Diplomacy. At that time, communication on sports did bring us closely when our government want to build relationships with other countries.

Secondly, it will be easier for the government to invest on athletics than on the arts. Because there are hundreds forms of arts, it is hard for the government to develop each form equally, leading to some negative voices from other areas of arts if the investment is unequal. For example, if you put more money on concerts, artists in painting will ask for more money on their area. Therefore, the division of money can become a trouble for the government. However, for sports, the government can build some sports phystlities used by various kinds of sports. Cite gym as an example. Athletics in running and jumping can both use the same gym to practice. The gym can be used several times by different athletics. However, for a place where hold concerts, it cannot be used for exhibiting paintings.

Lastly, the investment on athletics can be used by other people and can be leveraged for further usage. If the government build a gym mainly for professional practice, other citizens can use it when the team does not use the gym, benefiting other people and saving money for the government. Besides, it will encourage citizens to play more sports to keep fit.

In conclusion, there are some benefits if the government spend more money on athletics than arts. Not only it can increase the reputation of the government, but also improve the health level of all citizens. Hence, it helps form healthy atmosphere of a country.