A high school requires their students (aged 16-17) to choose an activity to attend in the summer holiday between 11th and 12th. Which of the following do you think is more beneficial?

-taking part in the university-level course (for example, the course related to the major field they want to study in)

-visiting museums and historic places with teachers and other students and then write a paper about it

It is a general tendency that education plays an important role in our daily life. Today, there are two types of activities presented for the high school students to select, one is taking the curriculum hold in class and the other is an attending an extra-curricular activity outside of class. The answer differs considerably from individual to individual. As far as I am concerned, I express my appreciation with the latter. My arguments for these points are listed as follows.

To start with, taking a reasonable amount of classes outside of school can broaden one student's horizon. There are many aspects a student cannot simply obtain from the classroom. Take my own experience for an example, I studied in an architecture major when I was back in high school. Undeniably, the courses in the classroom cultivate us the basic knowledge and skills of our profession as our foundation. But without attending some activities outside of the class, our imagination and creativeness can easily be framed by the courses. Once, our design teacher took us out to the museum to appreciate artworks. Although the paintings and drawings are not directly connected to our major, the story and pigment selection actually brought a great impact on me. I was greatly inspired by some projects, and it influenced my further works in the architecture field.

In addition, when stepping outside of the classroom, it is the best opportunity to take the practice from the textbook and transfer it in reality. As a student, we spent our majority of time in the classroom obtaining knowledge and learning concept, but rarely can one have the chance to perform it in the classroom. To illustrate, if one student is majored in history, by visiting historic architecture sites and cultural villages can provide you real emotion and scenes that can not be experienced through a picture or within the classroom. Therefore, analysis writing in one's paper can be greatly improved.

Admittedly, everything has two sides and some may claim that taking courses that are closely related to one's field of study can be more practical. For instance, for students that study in engineering or computer science, it seems unnecessary and a waste of time by taking them out to green open parks or famous landmarks. However, in the accelerated society today, students have more pressure on their shoulders since the competition among peers is relatively fierce. By having a few breaks can support them the motivation in the long run. As an old adage goes, "Taking a break is for accomplishing a longer journey."

All in all, Taking into accounts of these factors, taking extra-curricular activity is more beneficial for the high school students, since it can provide them a variety of perspective, experience the practices in real life, and motivation for the long journey. That is not to say that other opinions are totally out of merits. Nevertheless, I strongly believe that my points of view are fully capable of firmly supporting my position.