High ways or public transportation.

Transportation is one of the important factors that have affected greatly in our daily life. Transportation includes different components such as roads, high ways, public transportation and so on. The government often confront a tough decision whether they invest must budget on improving the high ways or public transportation. Definitely, some people if asked would agree with the statement that the government should invest more in improving public transportation while others have a negative attitude. As I am concerned, I completely agree with the government should invest in public transportation.

The first and the most reason is that progressive public transportation encourages people to use public transportation and will help to reduce traffic congestion. Due to the no efficient public transportation, many people use the private vehicle, this caused a traffic jam and waste the valuable time of people that stuck in traffic jam. To illustrate that idea, let’s consider the following example. I live in Tehran city one of the crowded city in the world. One of the big problems created as a result of a high population is terrible traffic congestion, especially, during peak hours of the day. Several years ago the government decided gave more attention to this problem and with a practical plan they devoted most of the budget of Tehran city to the establishment of metro and renovation of the public bus. This plan has a great effect on the decrease of traffic jam in the city. Many residents use public transportation with modern facilities. Additionally, using public transportation will prevent air pollution. As you know, one of the most reason that caused air pollution is driving a private car. If people encourage to use a public vehicle, this would be a big help. Furthermore, extra costs for gas, preservation, and insurance decline by use of public transportation.

On the other side, investing in developing the roads and high way assist in the improvement of commuting between cities and will reduce the rate of accidents. For example, my neighbor has a car accident and damaged her brain because of this he loses the ability to walk. When police seek the main problem, evidence showed that inappropriate condition of the road was the main cause of an accident. So, investing in the restoration of roads seems advisor choose too.

By way of conclusion, base on the arguments explored above, I am of the opinion that most part of the government budget should spend on the progress of public transportation because of some issues such traffic jam and air pollution that we confront today with them. Although, part of the money could use to the perfection of the roads.