If you are going to travel to a city for the first time but you have a limited amount of time which of the following do you think would be the best way to know about the city in a short time touring historical sites going to shops and markets eating in lo

Nowadays, with the sizzling economy, more and more people are enabled to travel in order to unwind themselves and some people also view traveling as a fantastic way to deepen their understanding of another city. Whenever this topic is discussed, a general controversy arises. Some people contend that visiting shops and markets is beneficial to the understanding of the city they travel to, and others hold a different viewpoint that eating in the local restaurants should be an optimal choice. However, as far as I am concerned, touring historical museums and sites should be seen as the superior option.

In the first place, visiting historical sites and museums enable us to have a more systematic view of the development of the city we tour. What is known to us all is that those sites are always equipped with some educational institutions, and by walking in those places, we are granted the chance to grasp a clearer view of the history of this city. In the museum, there are a lot of display boards written by specialists. With some propaganda videos and high-tech interaction applications vividly demonstrating the historical stories. In this way, we can efficiently broaden our horizons and enrich our knowledge. For example, I once visited the national museum in Singapore. The curator enthusiastically talked about the history of Singapore with me. Before that, I didn't have any background knowledge of colorism and colonists in that place and have no idea of what inspired the leader to liberate the people living in Singapore, and how he enacted a series of policies to make Singapore great again. Thanks to this tour, I eventually gained a more comprehensive understanding of this country.

In addition, visiting historical spots is comparatively economical. In many places, local government has distributed a vast amount of money to museums in order to deliver benefits to the cultural life of citizens, thus the prices of most museums are always low. Sometimes, museums are free to the public on special holidays, charging no money. Although the local prices may be high owing to the development of the economy, the costs of visiting historical places and museums can always be acceptable to most tourists, compared to the luxury prices of shopping and eating. For example, last summer I went to Beijing, the capital city of China, and visited the Palace Museum, the biggest museum related to Qing Dynasty. The price of the ticket is 10 yuan, which is relatively cheaper than eating a meal in Beijing. Stepping into the museum, I saw valuable cultural heritage as well as some antiques. This experience is definitely worth the price.

Admittedly, eating and shopping also help us get a glimpse of the life of residents and establish a basic comprehension of the culture. However, it is not advisable to spare no efforts on affairs that are time-consuming as well as inefficient. We have to visit different stores and diversified cafes to achieve our goals. In modern society, the masses all value time and money, so these deficiencies cannot be compensated with ease.

In a nutshell, I definitely render my support to touring various historical sites as the best way to know a country. Only in this way, can we have a systematic view of the city in a more economical way.