If you are required to give feedbacks about your classmates/colleagues, would you like to give positive comments or negative comments first?

In today's progressive and competitive world we live in, no one can turn a blind eye to the significance of the people's influence have on each other. There are different ideas when it comes to whether it is better to give positive comments on other's work or personalities at first or negative comments. Some people believe that the first comments should be positive. On the other hand, some people hold the idea that it's more influential to leave negative comments in advance. I think the first group carries more weight, and these are my justifications.

First, being positive at first is essential to forge a secure relationship, which allows the person to make negative comments later. To clarify, if you start with negative comments, it will cast considerable doubt on your good intentions. Colleagues and classmates need time to believe that you try to improve them. If you leave negative comments before they have enough time to trust you, they would probably become negligible to all of your sayings. It is necessary to be positive before the relationship becomes close and persuade others that your goal is to help and you are not trying to belittle them.

Second, giving positive comments will boost their self-esteem, making them more creative and aware of their strong points. To shed light on this, there are so many people is suffering from low self-esteem. They don't know about their positive features and never experienced being acknowledged by their classmates, boss, or colleagues. By doing so, we can encourage them to believe in themselves. Personally, I think people already know their drawbacks, and it is low energy and lack of self-confidence that prevent them from getting rid of their unwanted qualities. Therefore, kindly cherishing them for their positive characteristics would help them become more successful than they were before.

Third, human beings love to be appreciated, and just a few of them are open to being criticized. We have to spend a lot of time realizing whether the person is ready for hearing bad things about their function. Some people are touchy and take just a tiny amount of criticizing of their work as personal. Therefore, it is better to start with positive points, and through this time, gain an understanding of the person's openness to negative comments.

By considering the reasons mentioned above, I think it is better to start with positive comments. Because by doing so, the bond between people will strengthen, the self-esteem of the person will boost, and we gain enough knowledge about person and sync in out comments with their character.