If you could change one important thing about your hometown, what would you change? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

In today’s modern world, by the growth of population and their demand for a mechanized life, traffic jam and air pollution has become two major problems in most big cities. Tehran, my hometown, is one of the biggest cities in the world that has been suffering from both heavy traffic jam and air pollution in recent years. Consequently, these concerning problems make me change the transportation system in order to lighten the disruptive traffic jam, and restrict dispersion of pollutants in to the air, if I would be able to change one.

These days, traffic jam through Tehran is quite a familiar problem to everyone who lives in it. Every day, heavy traffic jams, besides making people breath a large amount of pollutants, which are dispersed into the atmosphere, leads quite a few people whether old or not/or otherwise in to the hospitals. In spite of these terrible conditions, through using their own cars rather than using public transportation facilities for traveling, most people intensify these critical conditions.

In spite of this fact that using public transportation systems such as the subway and buses lessens air contamination and traffic jam issues, some big problems arise which cause the rejection of such systems by most people. Irregularity and lack of proper and decent public services are two important reasons for the already mentioned objection, which are improvable by an active and responsible management for this system.

By taking into account all the above mentioned factors, we reach the conclusion that improving the public transportation system not only brings about people to be attracted by such comfortable and cheap facilities, but also helps people lighten traffic jam and subsequently, refine the polluted atmosphere of the city, which is the main source of respiratory diseases.