If you could go back to some time and place in the past, when and where would you go?

Everyone has the desire to go back in time to see what life was like in the past. If I was asked to go back in time, I would choose to rewind back to the Victorian period., specifically Victorian London. I have many reasons to wish to experience life in this era, some of which I will discuss below.

The Victorian era was a revolutionary time due to many reasons. This was the time when economic expansion was at the largest. A large amount of significant inventions were seen. These are still used today, such as electricity, underground railways and the telephone, but are, of course, much different today. I would like to see how these looked and functioned when they were first introduced.

This was also a time when the arts were booming. Many great books were written by famous authors such as Charles Dickens, Edgar Allan Poe and Charlotte Bronte, all of whose work I adore. If I could live in this era, I would not only love to read the first edition of their books but would love a chance to meet them. Also, I have always wished to experience a proper tea party that was introduced during this time period. Having a tea party with one of my favorite Victorian writers would be a dream come true.

Besides this, I would simply like to know what everyday life was like in the Victorian era. How people worked, what the role of people were, what they did in their leisure time and so on. This may have been a time for great economic growth, but it was the worst time for those who were below the poverty line. Many people like Charles Dickens brought their situation to light and helped improve their lives using books as his medium. I would also wish to be among such venerable people who helped alleviate the problems that many unfortunate people faced.

In short, If I had a chance to go back in time, I would love to go back to the Victorian period to try out new inventions as they come out, meet my favorite authors and experience life during the Victorian period. Of course I know that it was not a rosy time period as it is made to seem and wish to see how life was for people from the entire social hierarchy and help those who live in poor conditions.