If you have extra money, are you happier giving it to charity or spending it yourself?

Beyond a shadow of doubt, money is the main driving force of our lives. Without being financially stable, I cannot even imagine living. But still, we sometimes forget about the people who are deprived of this resource. In this regard, some people like to donate the extra amount of money they have, while others are inclined towards spending it on themselves. Certainly, I concur with the former opinion: it is important to give your extra money to poor and needy people. In the following paragraphs, I would like to delve into the reasons and examples to substantiate my viewpoint.

First, the remarkably potential reason is the feeling of satisfaction you would gain by donating money to people enduring hardships in their lives. To elucidate, by eliminating their problems, you will be helping them to live better and improved lives. This can be really satisfying, as it would give you immense pleasure and happiness. On top of that, the money you would be granting will provide great relief to needy people. Also, they would give you blessings for a healthier life. My recent experience is a good case in point. During my vacations, I visited an orphanage where I met two little twins. When I offered them money for buying study stuff, they were highly elated. I still recall the overwhelming joy on their faces, and they gave me lots of blessings to be successful in my life. This is how donating your extra money can be essentially helpful for an economically weaker section of society.

The second reason I see for giving my extra money is that it will make you realize the value of money and the good that money can do. This way, you will appreciate money and feel gratitude toward God for blessing you with this precious resource. Even in our religion, Sikhism, we are instructed to offer one-tenth of our salary for the welfare of poor people. My father’s example will be a good illustration of this point. Since my childhood, I have watched my father give a part of his salary to the needy. In this way, we could know the real worth of money and express our gratitude to the Almighty for this blessing.

In conclusion, I would like to reaffirm my viewpoint that it is better to give money to charity. To recapitulate, donating money for the welfare of poor people can give you internal peace while making others happy. Furthermore, you can express gratitude to God and know the importance of money by observing people who are really in need of it. Therefore, due to the aforementioned reasons, one should always choose to give extra money to charity instead of spending it on unimportant subjects.