If you want to recommend a way to reduce living expenses for your friend, which of the following will you choose? Why?

1. Find a roommate to share a room

2. Do not buy the latest mobile phone, Buy new technological devices less frequently

3. Buy cheap foods and cook home (do not often eat outside)

In my point of view, I would recommend the third option to my friend to reduce his or her living expenses because nutrition expenses not only account for a huge amount of life expenditures but also is more healthy and may avoid medicine expenditures. In addition, cheap foods and home-made foods have many advantages over the other options financially.

First of all, nowadays food and nutrition expenditures account for a huge amount of living expenses among others. The main reason for this is that foods should be consumed every day and the cost of affording for everyday essential could be remarkable. Hence, if an individual or a household tries to manage this section, they could benefit from a large scale money saving. A good way to reduce food costs is to make food at home, not going to restaurants or other places. Because frugal individuals can make healthy less expensive foods at home by buying cheap and less expensive raw materials. For example, my brother, who lives in Boston alone, usually make food at home by providing raw materials and enjoys his own recipe and save lots of money. This is especially profitable for him and the other households who have limited financial resources.

Second, consuming healthy food that is made of hygienic materials at home may lead to general appropriate health conditions. Many fast foods may contain some unhealthy materials that would, in long-run, force the consumer to visit a doctor. This unfavorable diet may increase the medical treats and drugs costs which the person should pay. So, if households try to make healthy cheap foods in their home, they not only guarantee their health conditions but also may reduce the cost of medical affairs.

Finally, in comparison to the other options, cheap foods may reduce the living costs more than every other decision or policy. As I mentioned before, food should be consumed every day and reducing the food costs could be more effective in the whole economy of households than the other options. For example, dorm sharing may reduce the cost of living up to 300 hundred dollars per month. By contrast, if the household makes food at home, they may save such an amount just in a week. So, making food at home may reduce the costs four times as much as sharing a dorm or house rent. In addition, if an individual usually changes his mobile so often, they can sale the previous mobile device which can make up for the cost of a new device. Also, changing a mobile device may occur occasionally, for example within 1 to 3 years, and cannot be as expensive as buying luxury food outside of home within such a time period.

All in all, I think making food at home and not having expensive meals outside could be the most efficient way to reduce the cost of living.